Reviews for Booted Bantam

  • 5 Star: 7 (7)
  • 4 Star: 2 (2)
  • 3 Star: 0 (0)
  • 2 Star: 0 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 9 reviews)

Write Review
Pages: 1

           Beautiful quiet little birds

- Lisa, 13 January 2014

I purchased 2 lemon mille fleur and soon came to realise than one was a cockerel. I worried at first about the noise and temperament but neednt have. Jock our cockerel is friendly and tame and his crow: though he puts a huge amount of effort into it is cute rather than deafening . They both dont mind being picked up to have feet inspected etc . I had to trim my hens flight feathers as she was finding high places to roost which put her in danger. They cause next to no damage to the garden .They are beautiful birds I have yet to get an egg.


           Great Chicken

- Deborah, 08 July 2013

I have had these guys for a while and I do like their look and calm attitude.


          

- Jane, 19 November 2011

I keep Barbu D'Uccles purely on their looks and friendliness. They have great personalities and don't trash the garden. The hens like a cuddle, the boys will enjoy a cuddle if caught. They make ideal pets, will lay a few tasty but tiny eggs in the summer. They can be long lived and very are fiesty. They are very small so don't need much space. The boys can be a bit noisy and they can fly quite well and like to roost in trees. I recommend clipping their wings if worried about this.


           A Good Garden Keeper

- Whittni, 05 November 2011

I have read much about this breed and have found they are good mothers, strong roosters. The breed does well in confinement but is shy around crowds of people, so they should be purchased as chicks to tame them for show. Hens are friendly of treats while roosters may be a little reluctant at first so you will need to cox the flock into liking you with food. -Whittni


           Great!!

- Bethselby, 25 October 2010

Booted bantam's are nice, friendly chickens how mix well with others. little bit loud but are great in the garden. dont grow that much so are great for little children . you can tame them as they are easy to tame. They prouduction is small eggs but they lay all year round. They can't fly so you dont need to worry about cutting their wings, but they can jump . Bantam's do tend to stick with other bantam's so i wouldn't take them away from each other get them in pairs and so on.


           Relax

- Maureen, 10 September 2010

I have three x three week old chicks. They are so lovely, the colours on their wings, their feathered feet. I have been suffering from depression and find my chicks/ hens give me a positive reason for getting up in the morning. The chicks run up to great you and mine love to be picked up and have a cuddle. Best therapy for me.


           Little black hen

- Clement, 23 December 2009

The lowest bird in the pecking order of my flock, the little black bantam was still a favourite. She loved to loaf around the coop and sleep in when all the other hens left. she was aggressive with the quails though but was still a great bird.


           Lovely garden bird

- An Omleteer, 04 August 2009

What a charming little bird ! They are so friendly and tame. Beautiful to look at and very sweet natured. Mine will come running at the mere sight of a human and will happily sit on my lap being stroked. They have done absolutely no damage to the garden and are stunning to look at. I would love to have more - they are so easy to keep, great to look at, friendly and the garden stays intact ! Don't know about laying yet as mine are still only 12 weeks old.


           Booted Bantams

- Jack, 22 July 2009

I have got a trio of lemon millefleur sablepoots (booted bantams) and I am very impressed by them! Their markings are spectacular! The word "mille fleur" apparently means "thousand flower" in Dutch, I am not surprised by all the spots all over them! They are very friendly little birds but do not really like being picked up, the guy I got them off said that they do like to spend a lot of time in the house and this is true at some parts of the day. Mine have not started laying yet but they are meant to be good layers of smallish tinted eggs. Because of their feathered feat they can not dig up the grass which is another bonus! They are very easy to care for and do not eat bucket loads of food like some breeds! They are a brilliant birds; more people should keep these stylish and sweet little birds!

Pages: 1
Omlet Cartoon