Reviews for Brahma

  • 5 Star: 28 (28)
  • 4 Star: 0 (0)
  • 3 Star: 0 (0)
  • 2 Star: 0 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 28 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2 3

           Best ever

- IGS, 19 December 2014

Friendly, good layers 6 eggs a week


           Absolute king of chickens

- Chris, 02 October 2013

Ive been keeping brahmas for ten months now before this i had 14 different rare breeds,sold them all and started with a quad of gold brahmas now i have six different colours some trios and some quads, i think these areby far the best breed ive ever had and contrary to reports ive found them great layers of a good sized egg,very friendly hardy and stunning to look at im hooked. ps my favourite colour is still good quality golds.


           My absolute favourites.

- Rebecca, 11 March 2013

I have two Brahma hens - one called 'Ripley', who is black (although she has a partridge-streak on her collar, for some reason) and one called 'Khan' who is grey (again, I know that is not an accepted colour, but I won't breed from them so I don't mind). They are the most wonderful, intuitive birds. Ripley is top of the clan, but fair to others. She actually physically stopped one of the other hens from bullying my silkie (isn't that weird?). She is a keen forager and tears up the ground in search of delightful insects to munch. She leads all the other girls to bed at dusk. The only thing about Ripley that is slightly odd is that her egg song is IMMENSE. It is like she is sounding an alarm for ten minutes; sometimes I feel like I have a cockerel! Khan is such a giant sweetheart - she is a bit goofy as well, so loveable. The eggs are MASSIVE and we have lots of them all week.


           I am addicted to the Dark Brahmas

- Tammy, 31 January 2013

My girls are the first to greet me ,they are gentile giants and eye candy for my fly tying . i love the looks the personality and the eggs . they are amazingly friendly and have a loving nature more then my buff orphintons , Like i said i am addicted anyone have some chicks for sale ?


           Very pretty birds

- Andrew, 24 December 2012

Brahma's are a lovly gentle breed they are truly gentle giants. They are the most bueatiful birds I have kept. They do eat allot though and don't produce great amounts of eggs. They are great mothers and brooders.


           Very good

- Will, 24 October 2012

I LOVE THIS BREED IT IS FRIENDLY VERY GOOD EGGS APPEARANCE VERY GOOD IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A CHICKEN THEN I THINK THIS IS THE ONE FOR YOU


           Very good

- Will, 24 October 2012

I Love the Brahma it is a grate breed to have i like the blue Brahma the most but they are all nice


           Exellent

- Phil, 19 October 2012

I have 3 dark hens 1 hybrid 1 cochin and a buff colombian cockerel. they arent layin to great at the moment because of the daylight change.Lenny (the cockerel) is quite quiet in comparason to his size. they are large birds but not at all imposeing. because of their feathery feet they can scratch up nearly as much.


           Brahma chickens

- Bryce, 21 September 2012

Brahmas are very sweet birds. Although they can get massive they are not high maintence.


           A joy to have around.

- Lynn, 09 May 2012

My experience is that these birds, big as they are, can quite easily cope with a two and a half to three foot high fence to get to your vegetables [we have had to re~fence the vegetable garden] ~ so beware! When the pullets first come into lay, the egg size is approximately that of a small to medium sized supermarket egg, and after a few weeks, the egg size increases to a mixture of large [63~72g] and extra large [over 72g]. They are truly excellent broodies and make doting mothers. We have a lovely flock of black Brahmas, and they lay from the end of January [pullets], and about mid March for the mature hens. They stop laying between the end of October and the middle of November, as we never use artificial lighting to extend the laying season. It is possible to keep several cocks together with the hens without too many problems. They soon sort out a pecking order. A very laid back, friendly breed.

Next Pages: 1 2 3
Omlet Cartoon