Reviews for Dorking

  • 5 Star: 12 (12)
  • 4 Star: 2 (2)
  • 3 Star: 0 (0)
  • 2 Star: 0 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 14 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2

          

- Brandon, 29 August 2014

Nice breed


           A Worthwhile Breed

- SilverPaloma, 18 August 2013

I've a delightful clutch of Silver Grey's that surprised me with their egg laying capacity! In the interest of conservation and meat quality, I sought these birds out. What I have discovered is a delightful companion in the hen house or yard, as they love to speak in their delightful sounds (many sounds unlike today's modern day bird, even though they do cluck). While they began somewhat flighty, I worked diligently with them, and they no longer startle at the slightest unusual noise or sight. They love to come close to me while free ranging, to find out if I might have a tidbit or morsel of goodness for them. I can handle most of the birds without issue. The rooster is a fine fellow. I'm exceptionally pleased with him and his manner with the girls. He does his various jobs quite well: protection, food finding, keeping the girls close to home . . . The hens aren't production birds, but I do receive 4-5 eggs a week from each one.


          

- Clayton, 12 March 2013


           Excellent breed

- Melanie, 13 May 2012

I have had dorkings for the past 12 years. They are beautiful, excellent foragers, rose combs are great for colder climates although I do have single combs and only need to put petroleum jelly on combs when it gets very cold to protect them from frost bite. I use them as their own incubators as they do go broody easily and are excellent mothers. We operate an educational farm which frequently hosts children from the inner city and I always bring out a dorking to show. The hens and roosters are very friendly and can be touched anyplace by 30 children in a row. I also sell the eggs which are a nice size and their cream color is a favorite of a friend that does Ukranian painted eggs.for the intresting background collor. The history of this bird is incredible and I pass this knowledge on to all who visit my farm. I truly enjoy my dorkings and am blessed to be living with a piece of living history.


           Excellent breed

- Melanie, 13 May 2012

I have had dorkings for the past 12 years. They are beautiful, excellent foragers, rose combs are great for colder climates although I do have single combs and only need to put petroleum jelly on combs when it gets very cold to protect them from frost bite. I use them as their own incubators as they do go broody easily and are excellent mothers. We operate an educational farm which frequently hosts children from the inner city and I always bring out a dorking to show. The hens and roosters are very friendly and can be touched anyplace by 30 children in a row. I also sell the eggs which are a nice size and their cream color is a favorite of a friend that does Ukranian painted eggs.for the intresting background collor. The history of this bird is incredible and I pass this knowledge on to all who visit my farm. I truly enjoy my dorkings and am blessed to be living with a piece of living history.


           Great Pet/Meat Birds

- Karla, 17 November 2011

I have a 1 year old Dorking Rooster and he is great. Non-agressive with my children (all under 5). He does keep the hens in line and is an agressive breeder. This breed is great for families with children. The kids get the eggs and he never bothers them. Wish I had more and had some hens too. Would highly recommend this breed. They are very pretty birds and neat to watch. Very friendly too! I honestly can't say enough about them.


           Very good bird allround

- Jake, 19 April 2011


           Dorking

- Katie, 13 September 2010

I have 2 silvergrey dorkings and I love them . They are very friendly and happy to come indoors when they feel like it! Great with other animals and kids. Sadly both mine have had egg issues. Both girls had an egg break inside them and were on deaths door but there hardiness kept them alive. They had not eaten for 4 days or even lifted their heads but made a full recovery which amazed my vet! Neither have laid an egg since but I am just glad they made it and are a big part of our family! Would recommend them 100%.


           Ideal all rounders

- Barn, 28 January 2010

I have kept this breed for just two years. They are one of my favourite breeds,docile,friendly and,ideal for families with young children. The cockerels are good community birds,do not fight with my other free ranging cockerels as the other cockerels respect them. They are excellent with chicks that stray from other hens and,the cockerels seem genuinly concerned for the chicks welfare'. Cockerels that do not make the grade are kept back for the table,slow to mature but,an ideal table bird. The hens just seem happy to jump onto a lap as and,when they feel like it'..


           Silver dorkings

- An Omleteer, 11 August 2009

I bought 4 girls and a cockeral 6 weeks ago, since arrival they have settled in and are very friendly. However they have laid about 6 eggs in total in that time. Also all six of the eggs were damaged due to them breaking them! So in total unimpressed.

Next Pages: 1 2
Omlet Cartoon