Reviews for Dutch Bantam

  • 5 Star: 17 (17)
  • 4 Star: 0 (0)
  • 3 Star: 0 (0)
  • 2 Star: 0 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 17 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2

           Gorgeously handsome friendly birds

- Elspeth, 30 October 2014

I purchased some Serama eggs from eBay and only one of them hatched, later I discovered that it wasn't a Serama at all but a Dutch Bantam cockerel. Surprisingly I wasn't at all disappointed as the cockerel is a stunner, he lives with serama and modern game hens and is the friendliest nicest rooster I've ever had the pleasure to own. It's a breed I knew nothing of but will now be pursuing!


           Brilliant fertile rate

- Arnie, 09 June 2013

I have just got 7 silver duck wing Dutch bantam eggs from my friend and I have put them in the incubator, I have just candled them and 6 out of 7 have got something in. Awesome


           Very lovely bantams

- Carlton, 04 May 2013

These are lovely chickens to have pecking around your garden. Ideal for small or large gardens. They lay an egg a day each. Very pleased with this breed.


           Golden dutch

- Joe, 01 September 2011

The golden dutch chicks are no bigger than a pidgin and lay eggs every over day and love to be out side in the garden , golden dutch chicks can fly but only short distance.


           Noel, Poole, 13/06/11

- Noel, 13 June 2011

I have a pair of gold partridge which have just had one chick andI fully intend to increase the flock. I let them roam freely around the garden where they seem to thrive. They seem to have sorted out the problem with snails eating all my plants and they never damage anything. They are very friendly and always cluck around as I tend the garden, great characters with lots of personality. Extremely easy pets to care for and inexpensive too. If living in close proximity to neighbours who may not appreciate early morning fanfare avoid having a cockerel as they tend to be quite vocal, (personally I enjoy it !)..P.S. The chicks are adorable !


           Must have!

- Rosa, 01 June 2011

I have a pair of dutch bantams they are a must have, cute, friendly and lay small but very tasty eggs! They are garden friendly and squeak not cluck. Recently the female had been sitting on 6 eggs after approximately 20 days one hatched, surprisingly because i'm not experienced being only my second hatching. With only one of them hatching I was quite disappointed I suspected that the rest was not fertilised. The male is very protective and the hen a very good mother. The chick is very small and very confident I am not sure what gender it is yet but I am sure he\she would not mind being called may. Love this pair!


           Fabulous wee birds

- Elanne, 08 March 2011

My Dutch bantam girls are nearly two years old now. We hatched them in an incubator and hand reared them and they are fabulous pets. They are very bonded to humans and will line up on the kitchen windowsill at bed time and tap at the window to come in for their supper. They get cuddled by the children and put up with all manner of abuses including being wheeled about in a doll's pram. I absolutely adore my hens but the only downside is they do love to visit the neighbours and a couple of them don't like birds so we have to keep them in a run. We get 3-5 eggs a day from them in summer unless they go broody and egg production fell hugely in Winter but this was when the hens were moulting. My birds are beautiful proud little hens that are full of character and a joy to keep. To sum up - if you have kids and want a hen that will also be a pet, Dutch are the birds for you.


           Gorgeous bird

- Hayley, 07 March 2011

I have had Doris for 6 days now. She is beautifully tame and loves to be cuddled, she nuzzles into you and stays as still as anything. She loves her food and doesn't peck the lawn to pieces. Very quiet bird, makes quiet clucking noises. Excellent for children, very tame and eats out of your hand. I haven't a bad word to say about these birds.


           Cute and beautiful little birds

- Rosa, 04 March 2011

These birds are not only cute and beautiful they are NOT aggressive. i have a pair of Dutch Bantam and they are fully grown, but they do not cluck they cheep like a mouse. They love being put in a stable with shavings as they happily dig and bath in the shavings. I came to the stable one day and the male dutch had gone i was shocked searching round every where, in the end i came back to the stable to retrieve the female and could not found her. In the end we found them both, we found the male on the pole which is hanging at the inside roof of the stable and the hen sitting on eggs behind the horses rugs inside the stable. It is still unknown how the male had got up that high, it was around 7 feet up. But it was sunset so he must of tried to settle there for night. My favourite breed. :D


           Nice little bird

- Aaron, 20 February 2011

Its a great little bird.

Next Pages: 1 2
Omlet Cartoon