Reviews for Ex-Battery Hen

  • 5 Star: 21 (21)
  • 4 Star: 21 (21)
  • 3 Star: 39 (27)
  • 2 Star: 27 (12)
  • 1 Star: 6 (6)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 87 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 29

           REALLY GOOD BIRD TO HAVE

- DANIEL, 29 January 2015

THEY WOULD BE A GOOD BIRD TO HAVE WHEN YOU ARE FIRST STARTING OFF WITH HENS.


           A sad day

- Sheelagh, 25 January 2015

Last may we decided to get some ex-bats from the bhft. we have loved having them from the begining and seeing thier feathers grow back and each one develop its own personality. we were warned they could live a while or not very long so to just be happy we could give them a nice retirement. sadly Betty died in her coup yesterday after eight months. she had always been the sickly one who we had to take to the vet every couple of months but she always pulled through until this last time. I miss her already and so do the other girls in the coup. I hope she found some happyness with us and is resting peacefully in chicken heaven. we will always remember you our little betty. xxxx


           Sweet ladies :)

- Samantha, 18 October 2014

We have had several rescue ladies over the past two years. They arrive in a frightful state, confused by sudden open spaces. The first thing I had to do was trim their horribly neglected, overgrown talons. Their feathers grow back from almost naked to big, soft and fluffy in the space of 9 months. And such characters! Each girl has a different personality and we've loved choosing names for them (often on a theme): Perry Combover; Esme; Bernard (think Blackadder!); Nancy Spungen; Varicella (Latin for Chickenpox); Salmonella; Listeria and Tinea. They love standing at the patio doors and giving me their best unnerving 'Zombie Stare'! How did I ever live without them?!


           We Love'em!!

- Frances, 03 June 2014

We have had ex-batts for about 4 years now, only 4 to begin with in a converted shed in a run in the garden. It was wonderful to see them bloom! They came in their undies and have now grown into the most wonderful ladies. They are inquisitive, friendly and we love them to bits. They lay eggs quite regularly but they do like to dig themselves scrapes in which to sun/dust bathe so my flower beds have taken a bit of a beating. They share biscuits and cake with us when we have a cuppa in the garden and if any digging is being done they are there to grab the worms. Perfect starter birds, excellent for children!


           Can't imagine having any other hens!

- Lindsey, 26 April 2014

They look manky when they arrive but you get such pleasure out of watching them when they exhibit their natural behaviour. Its almost like their body takes over telling them to scratch, and take dust baths etc. Over time they start to look beautiful again. We get 3-4 eggs per day from our 4 hens, and they are so friendly. Highly recommended.


           Our girls :)

- Burnybum, 03 December 2013

We moved onto a 10 acre smallholding, the 2 goats were first, then our beautiful exbat girls, all 26 of them! Two unfortunately couldn't take the move and died within 24 hours :( We had 3 in the 'intensive care block', they were 'oven ready' bless their cotton socks. After the fox has picked some off we have 17 left a year later, very happy girls :) They were just so bedraggled it was unreal, they took a week to come out, but now we find the eggs everywhere! They love their life, they are brilliant characters and a joy to watch :) And still laying in December :)


           Battery hens

- Sheryl, 03 November 2013

We started off with 6 ex bats toand got hooked.! we started to get posh girls to get abit of variety. we curently have a flock of 70. but i can honestly say that the ex bats are FAB! they are the most loveable girls and sometimes you get a special girl who is so tame and loving its very special. would definately reccomend ex bats.


          

- Brandon, 12 October 2013

Excellent layer of eggs


           I love my girls!

- Daisy, 17 August 2013

We brought home 6 ex bats a few weeks ago and they have made us very happy. We tend to get 4 or 5 eggs a day. They are very funny, friendly and all have their own characters. They look pretty bald & a wee bit sorry for themselves but every day that passes they grow new feathers. I couldn't recommend them highly enough.


           Diamond in ruffles

- , 08 August 2013

These birds have what it takes to survive. though not the beauties of the bird world, they are allways garenteed hens and can lay so many eggs that four will have you over flowing with eggs. And with proper care can be easily shown, at a 4-H competion. They are very friendly so are good for a first time raise, even young children will love raising Ex-battery birds.

Next Pages: 1 29
Omlet Cartoon