Reviews for Hybrid

  • 5 Star: 7 (7)
  • 4 Star: 7 (7)
  • 3 Star: 9 (1)
  • 2 Star: 1 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 15 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2

           ISA warren great bird

- Adam, 27 May 2014

I have owned four of these for about 2 years now and their egg production is great we get 3-4 eggs a day and they lay right through winter to. The ISA warren is the type of brown hen typically used in battery farming and have been bred not to go broody however this is not un heard off as there are exceptions. These hens are kind and affectionate and can be tamed easily and often enjoy cuddles. These chickens generally prefer free range and will get bored easily if kept in a small run. The only downside to this breed is they are very rough foragers and enjoy digging and will easily damage young plant shoots so if your a garden proud person maybe you will need to find a less damaging breed of chicken e.g pekins. In conclusion this breed is very rewarding and a great addition to any garden.


           Skylines and bluebells

- Nic, 08 February 2014

I have two of each, have had them for around 3 months now. The bluebells might still be on the young side so no eggs yet from them but my lovely Skylines, Kiki and Rio have laid almost every day ...beautiful blue eggs too, my friends love it when I can spare the odd half dozen! Find the bluebells a little skittish and because they're the biggest birds in my flock and also grey coloured unlike the others (I also have 3 ex bats) they're at the bottom of the pecking order. Perhaps I should get some more to even the odds out.


          

- Brandon, 12 October 2013

Excellent layer and I good breed to have :)


           Fantastic

- Hamish, 25 May 2013

Great looking interesting personalities


           Eggs galore

- Olivia, 09 May 2013

I have 10 hybrid hens and 1 cock they are laying crazy amounts of eggs around 10 per day,great profit as selling the eggs gets enough money to buy feed etc. my breeds are mainly Speckedlys x4,Calder Rangers x4 and White Stars x3. i love my hybrids pick them over pure breeds any day there the best of both worlds!


           If you want lots of eggs,get a hybrid!

- Emma, 28 January 2013

I have had a few types of hybrid hen in the past and my favourites have to be the copper black and the speckledy, whick I think are both maran based. They not only look good but lay exceptionally well. The speckledy has this beautiful velvety feel to their plumage, I could sit and stroke them all day! Hybrids seem to be the most hardy and fearless hens I've ever had. They are not put off by cold weather and are simply laying machines, they just get on with the job. I have found that they do scratch up the grass more than other chickens so long as you don't mind this they make good pets.


           Bluebelle is a must!

- Kate, 16 April 2011

I have a mixed flock of hybrids and pures, and the star has to be Betty my bluebelle - she lays every day - through cold winter, bathing, new hens, moving house etc, She is the very gentle boss of my flock, as she never bullies the others, but is always first to run to food bowl and to decide on bed time. She loves to potter with me, is gentle with my kids and happy with my dog. She is always entertaining (and will never get fat); chasing flies and jumping to reach blossom/leaves. She lives happily in a large run now, but was not so keen on mixed free-range/ run time, becoming restless when returned to the run. My only gripe is she does not like to preen, so is always scruffy, only cleaning up when rained on! Had less success with a beautiful black rock- hardly ever laid, and did not settle to life in the run; flying over fence with clipped wings and extra strands of wire.


           Very Friendly and Good Layers!

- Philip, 06 April 2011

I have a bluebelle, who is extremely friendly, but also very big! She lays eggs jsut about every day (6 a week), a breed which I highly recommend. I also have a Rhode Rock, who too is friendly, and has just started laying lovely brown eggs. Her feathers are lovely colours and very soft! Our Suffolk Pied has got stunning colours, but we haven't got any eggs off her yet!


           Very good pets

- Ollie, 12 March 2011

Hardy and lay lots of eggs they can be a bit tough on your garden because they love digging


           Lohmann Brown

- Craig, 16 November 2010

Wish i got my 3 girls sooner. (Lohmann Brown) They are really friendly & easy too look after. Ideal for any beginner & if it's eggs you want, then you won't go far wrong with these.

Next Pages: 1 2
Omlet Cartoon