Reviews for Jersey Giant

  • 5 Star: 13 (13)
  • 4 Star: 2 (2)
  • 3 Star: 8 (1)
  • 2 Star: 1 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 16 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2

           They are very nice and lay allot of eggs

- Kaleb, 21 October 2014

They are very nice and lay allot of eggs


           Awesome

- Peggy, 22 February 2014

I love the Jersey Giants. They follow me around. Come running when I'm outside. They come when called. Their beauty with the iridescent feathers. Egg production is great. These birds are a joy to be around!


           Five star breed all round for me

- Debbie, 20 May 2013

I have kept many breeds of chickens in my life and Jersey Giants so far are one of my favourite of the many pure breed chickens. There is nothing more delightful than when Pansy my top JG hen hears my footsteps on the patio and clucks for joy, leaps the run fence and gallops (in that crazy chicken way) down the garden to see what treats I may have for her - she doesn't do this very often but when she does it is usually on a day that I am in real need of cheering up. Does she know I wonder? My JG girls all lay a lovely white egg for me every day without fail and my magnificent Rooster (can be seen in photos in this section) is just that - truly magnificent. He looks after his girls in such a gentle yet firm manner - a true gentleman or should I say gentle giant!


           Superb breed

- Trudy, 24 January 2013

I have had Blacks Jersey Giants for more than 10 years and have found them to be the quietest natured breed. They are very quiet and tame and respond well to handling. They remain calm and very friendly throughout their lives, and I have yet to have a male bird with a bad disposition. They lay medium sized eggs and although Black Australorps are more frequent layers, Giants are still excellent productive birds. They are quite spectacular and are fun to show because of their calm nature and off the charts good looks. I have always gotten stock from established breeders rather than hatcheries. Our motto is "Them Giants got class" and they do. They also get along very well with all other breeds. A great bird to own, show or just emjoy!!


           Jersey giants are the best ever

- Eleanor, 21 December 2012

I think that jersey giants for appearance should be five star not four and a half star because Cochin has five star and jersey giants and Cochin are equally beautiful and stunning


          

- Catherine, 13 August 2012


          

- Jackie, 23 May 2011

You can purchase Jersey Giant chickens from Meyer Hatcheries in Polk Ohio! Excellant dual purpose chicken!


           All in all a great breed of chicken

- Joe, 08 March 2011

I'm on my second season for breeding jerseys and find them to be very friendly and a gentle giant. So far none of my hens have gone broody but last season I used a hybrid hen to hatch them, the chicks were very strong/robust and again friendly always wanting to help with the gardening. This year I'm using a silkie hen to hatch out a clutch of eggs as the jersey hens still don't want to go broody. As for friendliness to other breeds - fine so far, the jersey roosters have no problem with the silkie cockerel living along side by side with each other in the coop.


          

- Tammy, 01 February 2011

We have a very large Jersey giant and 2 jersey hens. The rooster , while quite fun to watch, has a bad tmeper and often attacks our legs. He just started doing this, I believe it may have something to do with his comming into maturity. We love him despite his temper, and the eggs we get from the hens are just a lovely, chocholate color. Weve named him Peter(A BIBLical name) and he does a cute dance around the females when I enter the coop. I wonder if this is common? There beautiful birds!


           Best Breed Ever

- Terri, 12 December 2010

I love my my birds! BJG's are friendliest chickens I've ever owned. I treat them daily with Ramen Noodles and table scraps. They run to greet me everytime I go outside. I have a large coop and still let them free graze a few hours per day. This breed is truely the best!

Next Pages: 1 2
Omlet Cartoon