Reviews for Naked Neck

  • 5 Star: 10 (10)
  • 4 Star: 2 (2)
  • 3 Star: 9 (1)
  • 2 Star: 1 (0)
  • 1 Star: 1 (1)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 14 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2

           Surprised

- Ian, 05 July 2014

I live at 1500 feet and get a lot of rain and snow so was concerned that they would not do well here. The supplier pointed out that they were 'not daft' and so long as shelter was available they would use it! As it turns out they are very happy and lay well. They choose to stay in or go out and both females have produced large broods. Ian


           My Naked necks

- Claire, 20 July 2013

I love my NNs they are so friendly. I have managed to get hold of a black skinned NN (crossed with silkie) she has the most adorable big black eyes, and I have just hatched some more off. They will always be NN feathered but with black skin. I entered my Transylvanian Naked Neck into a fur and feather show and she got 2nd in the rare breed section I was so proud of her.


           Happy in the North

- Carol, 18 June 2012

I keep a small flock of Turken chickens at my home is Alaska. 60.5 N They have shown their bravery against very large dogs, predatory birds, and silly children. The birds are good at foraging and lay nice big eggs. They look a little funny, but are happy in the yard or in the coop.


           A great breed!

- Alexandrea, 14 February 2012

My turkens are wonderful layers that do just fine on the free range. I don't eat mine but the smaller amount of feathers than many breeds make them easy to pluck and dress. They're generally good with children and although the cockerels do like to strut there stuff, i've never seen anyone attacked by one. they are not super broody like some duel purpose breeds although I will occasionally get a stubbornly nesting hen or two in late spring. They make good mothers in warmer weather when they can keep both themselves and their chicks warm. i wouldn't recommend hatching in colder climates, although the birds would do fine as long as they have shelter out of the wind and wet and a thick layer of shavings to help insulate them in the cold months.


          

- Trish, 11 May 2011

If I could have only one breed of chicken, it would be this one! To some they are ugly, I find their unique appearance rather pretty. They are tough as nails, excellent foragers but enjoy the bit of corn as well. This bird is very intelligent and I don't worry about them when they are out and about.


           Excellent dual purpose fowl

- Joseph, 18 December 2010

We have owned this wonderful breed of fowl in the United States and many other countries and for more than 50 years. They are an excellent dual purpose fowl, being very hardy from hatching through adults and usually have an excellent rate of egg production. With moderate care they live and produce for several years. They tolerate most climates and are particularly hardy in warm to hot areas. They are a delicious, easy to dress breed. Referred to by a variety of names, the birds are an excellent choice. Many people find the lack of plumage along the neck to be an unattractive trait, but I always recommend them to prospective backyard poultry men. The hens only occasionally become broody, but make excellent mothers if allowed to incubate. Once you have experienced these unique birds you will love them. If allowed they are excellent foragers with a calm, friendly personality.


           Miniature vultures

- Emma, 31 August 2010

Have recently acquired a male and three females. Within a matter of weeks they have become fearless and friendly. Not quite used to being picked up yet, but tollerant of my 20 month old son herding them back into their house! Appear to eat anything in addition to their layers pellets and corn. Doing a good job of trimming the length of grass on the lawn.If you value your lawn these may not be the right chickens for you. May not be the most attractive of chickens to everybody, but bags of character. No eggs yet, but still young birds.


           Love love love them

- Cheryl, 10 August 2010

I have a breeding trio which I just purchased, and they are definitely my favourite, they are no nonsense birds, they mixed in perfectly with my other hens, and the crow of the cockeral is like a low little foghorn which is easier on the ears.. altogether excellent they are very hardy and are great to watch..


           Got rooster

- Kari, 07 June 2010

Got a rooster from someone who couldn't keep it. It's super friendly loves to be picked up and carried around. I love watching him chase the hens around but he has yet to catch one.


           WOULD NOT LET YOU PICK THEM UP.

- SERGE, 05 June 2010

I had 3 hens and two Roosters. The hens were shy, layed about 5 eggs a week. Large eggs. Hens caused no problems at all, but the 2 Roosters were very vicious. I had to kick them many times and they never learned their lesson. Had to get rid of the Roosters! I recommend getting hens. They are very hardy even when it is cold.

Next Pages: 1 2
Omlet Cartoon