Reviews for Old English Game

  • 5 Star: 14 (14)
  • 4 Star: 3 (3)
  • 3 Star: 18 (3)
  • 2 Star: 3 (0)
  • 1 Star: 1 (1)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 21 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2 3

           Love this breed

- Ruth, 06 May 2015

I have had hens and cockerals and all have been lovely, super tame and excellent mothers. They are brilliant foragers and my hens lay everyday even during the winter months. The only problem I have found is finding some for sale. If anyone has any for sale, I would love a couple more hens to add to my chicken family. Please email me


           OEGB

- Graham, 12 October 2014

Hatched off 2013, I have them as garden birds, was a bit unsure if they would stay as can fly well and high. I don't fine them particularly noisy as some people have claimed. I run 3 with a mixed flock of Sussex and Wynadotte bantams without problems. The have layed eggs pretty much throughout the year when the others packed up for the winter, each one about 5 a week. I used one as a broody for 3 Wynadotte Bantams, she made an excellent mother although aggressive if you came near her brood, funny when they tried to get under her wing when they grew. A thoroughly entertaining little bird, who can fly well but, is happy to stick around with the rest of the ground dwelling birds.


           The best of the breeds

- Sean, 30 June 2014

I love these chickens they are quiet and never disturb my neighbours I have 4 in a eglu classic and they lay excellently I love waking up every morning going into my garden and picking those tasty eggs they boil really well and when it's thanksgiving These are the best replacement for turkey my cat gets along great and they are the most hardy animals I have seen my dogs back away at their glare


           Most friendly chicken ever!

- Julie, 01 May 2013

I rescued one from a local farmers market before Christmas, i didnt know what she was at first, all i knew was that she is the friendliest chicken towards people that i've ever known. she lives indoors, being so tiny and such a good flyer i worry that she'll disappear over the rooftops. she does go outside everyday in a coop to mix with the other girls, but being a fighting breed, shes a little too feisty and does tend to go for them (even at 4x her size!). shes an absolute delight, a perfect pet in fact. i cant imagine my life without her :)


          

- Pusapati, 13 December 2012

Excellent game fowl


           Fantastic bird

- Diane, 19 October 2011

I was privileged to be given a couple of these birds. They are superb, lovely friendly birds. I will not have a flock without them now.


          

- Ashley, 30 May 2011

Active and attractive with lively individual characters, a wonderful addition to any flock, space is not an issue with this breed since they are just as happy to be roaming the average sized garden or around a farm. They make fantastic mothers and will happily raise their offspring with the flock and defend them to the death! Highly recommended and very addictive:) cant wait to purchase some more!


           Great Fowl

- Howard, 24 March 2011

The Old English is many things to many people and I see all sorts of debate as to which type is correct, Carlisle, Oxford etc. and all I can say is there are many breeds of poultry in the World, so pick the one that suits you. I personally prefer the American Old English Game because they have beautiful feathering and move like an athlete. America was the final filter for the best cocks, as it was the last Western Country where performance cocks were permitted and their records contain the history of the best fowl all heading there in the 1800's, when cock fighting became a thing of the past in England. My family actually imported their fowl from the United States in the 1800's and I still have the seals and returned Bank Notes due to a shortfall in fowl supplied. We have always had the Stone Irish and Warhorse. Lovely fowl and both strains essentially crow winged and are a pleasure to handle as they exude strength. I like the fact that they will stick up for themselves and have had pieces bitten out of me for getting too close to a hens chickens and have had the males shuffle into myself at head height for disturbing his hens and even suffered a broken finger from separating two cocks who got loose and decided on a dance. I like the fact that these strains are known as fiery and you don't have to worry too much about dogs or predators as they will attack anything that comes into their domain, which is fair enough. As I said, there are many breeds of fowl and I hear all sorts of debate about this or that. I know and everyone knows there are two types of Old English and I would add actually three. Carlisle, A Mark Marshall/Atkinson type and an Oxford type. Breed the type you enjoy and I think it will be a wonderful day when everyone sits down and respects the different types and get down to the type they enjoy.


           Best Bird Ever

- Aide, 09 March 2011

These are probably the best breed that I have ever kept they are hardy lay good and look good all while being friendly enough to come sit on your shoulder and feed from your hand. If you don't already have these birds then get them


           Oxford english game

- George, 24 January 2011

I have had a trio of light susex and one oeg for about six months the oeg is defently boss and is so friendly that she follows my ten year old son around the garden and in to the house if allowed . She is fine to handle although she chases my cats out of the back garden . In short she is full of character lays most days and is fun to have and easy to keep.

Next Pages: 1 2 3
Omlet Cartoon