Reviews for Rhode Island Red

  • 5 Star: 19 (19)
  • 4 Star: 4 (4)
  • 3 Star: 0 (0)
  • 2 Star: 0 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 23 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2 3

           A fabulous chicken

- Janet, 06 April 2014

I've had a few Rhode Island Reds and have been impressed by each of them. My favorite hen, Chick Chick, would go for walks with me down by the creek. She also liked to sit on the shelf outside my front window and stare inside at me as if to say, I want to be in the big hen house with you! Every day she would come into my garage and lay one beautiful brown egg in a box of rags I kept under my workbench. I think they are a good looking chicken and a lot of fun to have.


           BRILLIANT BREED

- Lisa, 23 February 2014

This breed is one of the best breeds in our history of keeping chickens, nice on the eye and fabulous egg production (for a pure bred). My birds are exceptionally friendly. Only thing to look out for is the rich deep red colouring (not brown)


           Chalk&cheese

- Nigel, 06 June 2013

I have two rir in my small flock mabel is the friendliest hen you could ever wish to keep, her sister lena, short for evillena is the devil reincarnated, such a unfriendly girl.dont know where we went wrong with her, but we live in hope that she can change.


           Beautiful chicken

- Abdul, 31 January 2013

I've got a big rhode island red rooster very loving and friendly. I can't live without him. He's my morning alarm clock.


          

- , 09 December 2012


           Wonderful Hens

- Keiko, 07 November 2012

I had two lovely Rhode Island Reds a few years ago. They laid almost everyday and occasionally even laid double yolk egg. Excellent egg birds. They are also very friendly and docile. They came when called and did not mind being handled. They did like to eat tomatoes off the vines in the garden but otherwise caused no trouble. One of the best breeds I have ever raised.


          

- Morgan, 11 August 2011

Love these birds! i have 6 and they're very friendly! even the roosters arent too mean! im so glad i got them!


          

- Shauna, 17 May 2011

I have 1 scots dumpy rooster called rocky. i also have 4 rhode island hens matilda,rosy,kim and aggy are their names.They are fab layers and didnt stop laying all year even through winter! I now breed them . They are fab looking and are so friendly that they come in the house to lay. If you have a young family these are the birds for you!


           New to the world of chickens

- Judith, 20 April 2011

I am new to the world of chicken raising and love my Rhode Island Reds. They are teen agers presenlty but will be petted and cuddled with a little protest at first. They chirp and talk quite abit. They add comic relief for a retired couple. We hope we can get super eggs. As a child I always wanted to pet a bird now I can with these wonderful hens. We have our Eglo up waiting for the weather to warm up to put them in it.


           Brilliant breed!!!!

- Jude, 06 February 2011

This very good natured bird grew up on its own & will happily sit for hours next to me, gently preening itself. When it was a chick, it was winter time & could not go outside. So we just let it sit on our laps when we were watching fims. It is also an amazing layer.. This breed is one of my favourite. I love its traditional looks.

Next Pages: 1 2 3
Omlet Cartoon