Reviews for Sebright

  • 5 Star: 14 (14)
  • 4 Star: 2 (2)
  • 3 Star: 0 (0)
  • 2 Star: 0 (0)
  • 1 Star: 0 (0)
Average Rating:

           (Based on 16 reviews)

Write Review
Next Pages: 1 2

           Delightful, friendly and funny

- Gaynor, 09 September 2013

I have two golden sebrights and they are my first chickens. They are intelligent, funny, talkative and cuddly. They love to sit on my husband's shoulder whilst he's on the computer and often fall asleep there. They generally lay an egg every other day but have recently been moulting so not many eggs presently. They don't generally trash my garden except for one planter they have decided to adopt as a dirt bath - very funny to watch, I had no idea chickens roll around in the dirt with their legs in their air whilst making a purring noise. They are house hens so they have a ferplast cage indoors where they roost at night, the rest of the time they are in an outdoor enclosure for the morning and free range in the garden during the afternoon. Very spoilt and are training us well.


           Seabright Hen

- Mike, 14 April 2013

I have a Seabright hen which is an adorable little bird, very bold and friendly. I also have two white Silkies which are kept in the same run, the Silkies keep very much together which leeaves the Seabright out of it, I would like another Seabright for the birds companionship. If you know any hen keepers who have Seabrights for sale in the Doncaster or Scunthorpe area I would be most appreciative.


           4 girls,1 boy

- Paul, 04 December 2012

I've heard all sorts of things about this breed but i can tell you that my family of Golden Sebrights are the best birds i've ever had. Yes they are noisy and like to be free range but after 4 years now with a little bit of love they are tame and very friendly. They don't lay well in the cold months but are just fine in the summer. The boy looks awsome all the time,walking tall and keeping his girls in check. They work together well keeping an eye out for each otherall the time. They do like to roost high so a 7ft or 8 ft perch in the Coop is a must. They love grated cheese and live crickets as a treat.Just for laughs put the crickets in to the hay and watch the girls go crazy. Happy Flocking


           Our Sebright family

- Dorothy, 04 May 2012

Bobby Dazler is a very handsome upright perky little golden Sebright cockerel. Looks after his golden girls Trixie, and Dixie, and Sylvia the silver Sebright lady. They tend to keep together as a 'family', and are very attractive birds to have in the garden. Entertaining to watch as Bobby lifts his wing and flaps it as he flirts around one of his girls. They love grated chese, and cooked spaghetti as treats, but will forage around and explore the garden all day. ix well with other breeds.


           A lovely bird

- Andree, 23 March 2012

I have had a very beautiful golden sebright for 3 years but from all the descriptions, she should be laying a white egg. Mine is laying a pale pink/brown egg. She is very hardy..has survived a raccoon attack which we thought had killed her. Within a week of washing her wounds, she made a complete recovery. I recommend them.


           Friendly and easy to keep.

- Fern, 16 March 2012

I bought my little Silver Sebright last July. I initially had a cockerel and he became very aggressive so had to go. I replaced him with a female. She is a real treasure. Friendly and inquisitive - likes to come and sit on her perch when I'm out in the garden and chatter to me. She produces small but delicious eggs - but she is a pet first and foremost. Though she may be small she is high up in the pecking order! I haven't found any difficulties looking after her and I'm a novice. Would definately get this breed again.


           Tough as old boots

- Nick, 03 July 2011

Tottie and his friend Tottella are the friendliest chickens from our small collection and despite their dominutive appearance are very tough little birds as they will enter our sheep shed and eat from the sheep's bowls while the sheep are fighting for the food all around them. Tottie likes to be carried around and fussed by us but he takes no nonsense from the sheep - a little bit of training and we could have the first sheep chicken - who needs a dog! Nick and Ed - N.E.A.T. farm


           Characterful

- Barbara, 25 May 2011

Worried that lots of reviews said they were for the experienced keeper. Perhaps we got a good pair but they are delightful and easy to keep. Howard is protective and attentive to Hilda who obviously rules the roost - stands over her whilst she lays eggs. Hilda has a comic character, loves porridge and hides under kitchen cupboards if given half a chance. Strut around garden as if they are both 10 feet tall - in my eyes they are.


           Little beauties

- Laura, 09 June 2010

We bought a trio at last years Autumn Show in Peterborough as we fell in love at first sight. Already managed to breed over a dozen chicks this year - our cockerel Algie is quite a boy! They are wonderful in the garden, no mess, don't dig up your prize plants like larger breeds and look stunning. Ours are as friendly as any of our hens and mix well with all sizes - and don't assume they will be last in the pecking order! Highly recomended for beginners like us - we have only passed our first Eglu + 2 chooks anniversary this week and as of today have 7 hens and 15 chicks, with the same again ready to hatch.


           They are sweet

- Matthew, 31 May 2010

This breed of chicken has an interesting appereance but they are also very friendly. I have one and he is the favourite breed of chicken I have ever had, even though they aren't very good egg layers.

Next Pages: 1 2
Omlet Cartoon