Verified Reviews for Birch Style Qute Gerbil and Hamster Cage

3 Stars:
0
2 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 16 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Hamster cage -

This is a brilliant lovely hamster cage thats also a cool bit of furniture, would highly recommend

Verified Purchase: Nov 2020


-

I love it

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Excellent cage, happy hammy and owner, as the cage is a piece of furniture rather than an eyesore -

Haven't had a hamster since I was a child, and realised how much hamster accessories and cages had changed. Was really disappointed with the cages available, they weren't cheap but the construction looked really flimsy. I ordered one from a big pet chain and when it arrived the base was like a thin quality cat litter tray, and in fact reading more of the reviews someone said their hamster had bit a hole through the base in one evening. I took to the Internet in the hope I could buy a 'professional' strength hamster cage. My search brought me to Omelet, and I was amazed at how nice the cage looked like a piece of furniture and the quality and strength. I wasn't disappointed, it blends in nicely with our oak furniture and it's really nice and strong. Willow was 8 weeks when we bought her, and didn't do the tube right away, but the basement was nice and deep and room for a nice willow log burrow and food and drink bowls. She now is a little older and has her enrichment toys in the top, and of course her wheel. The cage has really easy access for cleaning, the bottom pulling out and the top front pulling down for full width access, it takes a lot less time to clean than previous cages. And Willow is now trained to come to her front door evenings to run in her playpen and ball.


Great buy - especially for escapologist! -

Our hamster makes Houdini look like an amateur, we have purchased a number of cages for her ( all recommended by the pets stores as suitable for hamsters that escape), she manages to get out of all of them in weeks, eating her way through plastic walls, finding / creating gaps in bars etc. our life was spent alternating between setting humane traps to catch her and searching for cages that were robust AND gave her space to live and play. I can honestly say we and she love this cage - we have had it for 10 weeks now, she can’t get out, she has room to roam and it is easy to clean! It looks good and we can see what she is up to. Just fantastic!

Verified Purchase: Apr 2020


Brilliant gerbil cage - Durham ,

I ordered this cage for my two gerbils and I am really pleased that I did, the cage wasn't too bad to assemble once assembled the cage is a good size the bar spacing is good and narrow enough not to let even young gerbil escape the accessories are good the wheel is big enough for my gerbils to run without hurting their backs and it is almost silent the food bowl has resisted chewing so has the tube. Once the cage was set up one of the gerbils took to using the tube almost straight away the other took about two days it could go up the tube but was unsure about going down, the floor is easy to clean, the box in the bottom holds loads of bedding and allows the gerbils to burrow and dig as much as they want, even with plenty of bedding in they have no problems using the tube. Cleaning the cage is simple and takes no time at all having the drop down front gives good access to the whole of the upper floor, the box is again easy to clean and can be taken apart if need although I haven't had to do that. I am over the moon with the cage and only wish I had found it sooner.

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Bold, Impressive, Conspicuous -

I would definitely buy this again it was very spacious and my hamster felt very occupied when playing and exploring the cage easy to build. Comes with everything my hamster needed. Very Outstanding and would recommend this item to others, worth the money. No problems what so ever at any stage at all.


The only humane hamster cage you can buy. - Michigan,

Store bought hamster cages are way too small, like a little prison, this cage is the only one that offers adequate space and has a very durable build. The bottom can accommodate a little hut hideout, food bowl and chew toys, I bought an extra flying saucer wheel for the top. My hamster loves it! The only change I would make is to the top floor mesh width in the front, a bit on the wide side for tiny hamster paws.

Verified Purchase: May 2019


It’s not a hamster cage, it’s a home! -

My daughter and I recently acquired a second hamster. We had adopted Possum about six months before. She came home in a cage that was way too small, so without much thought I bought a bigger version of the same cage. We then added Cammy-Bear to our family, but only had a temporary cage. I decided to spend some time researching hamster cages, and came upon Omlet. The price was right, and the functionality and style was perfect. I decided to get two. The two sit side-by-side and fit perfectly into this nook where a VHS cassette storage unit had been. The Omlet really is beautiful. It’s well designed. I’m a single mom, and just so-so with assembling things. Putting the second unit together was a breeze in comparison to the first. The only issue I had, was there are these two small (? 3”) rubber tubes which are to be placed in two inserts on the underside of the top of the unit. You’re to push those tubes into the openings. The metal cage back is shaped to fit into those two inserts, pushing into the rubber tubing, before sliding a metal rod through a pre-drilled hole on one side, through a few metal hoops on the bottom of the metal cage back, and into a pre-drilled hole on the other side. This is to hold the metal back firmly to the unit. Well, the first Omlet I put together, I totally missed this step, and put it together without the rubber tubing. I decided that after seeing all that I would have to undo, to just leave it. I tested out the metal cage back to see if it had too much give that it could pull out of the two inserts, but there was only minimal movement, so I let it go, and made a mental note to be sure and use the tubing on the second one I still had to put together. As I’m putting it together, I get to that point, place the rubber tubing, and when trying to insert the metal cage back by pushing it far enough in, and against the rubber tubing, so that the metal rod could pass through, and line up with the second hole, it wouldn’t. I made several attempts before giving up, and foregoing the rubber tubing. The metal rod without the rubber tubing lined up perfectly. Again, I checked the metal cage back, which fits. Neither hamster can get out. The two Omlets are now put together, and really look beautiful, and were well thought out. My only thought, and it’s by no means a criticism, but merely a suggestion for future design changes. The Omlet is two levels. The bottom is where the bedding goes, and the top is where the food dish, wheel and water bottle go. The top floor is made up of a metal grid on the front and back, and a plastic flooring in the center, which is where the tube runs through for the hamster to go up and down. Both hamsters for whatever reason don’t care to keep their food in the dish, and have decided that they like it in the back corner on the metal grid, which then drops through the metal flooring and in the back, behind the Omlet, and onto the floor. I’ll be jimmying something to catch the food. It’s really more of an issue with the back. If the unit were in casters, it would be easier to move. I understand the gridding was to allow air to circulate, but perhaps a 1-2” tray or shelf could be attached, to catch what they push out. Just an idea. Otherwise, it’s two thumbs up

Verified Purchase: Apr 2019


Three happy gerbils! -

My three gerbils are super happy in this cage! Love that the cage is free standing, doubles as a side table and is esthetically attractive.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2018


Highly recommend -

We had originally bought a cage for my daughter’s long-haired Syrian hamster then saw this. Far from an eyesore the omlet habitat is a pleasure to look at in her room. In addition to having half the footprint of the other cage, though twice the price it’ll far outlast the cheap made in China habitat. But most of all it’s simple for my daughter to clean. That was the deal when she got Tot, her hamster. She was going to be responsible for all care including cleaning the cage. Thankfully Omlet’s design makes it super simple for a 12 y.o. to maintain the cleanliness. Would highly recommend spending the extra money on their habitat. Assembly was IKEA easy. That’s the best way I can describe it. Much like putting together a dresser from Ikea, as long as you pay attention to the directions you’ll get it right the first time. Enjoy!

Verified Purchase: Jan 2020

1 of 2   Next