Verified Reviews for Walnut Style Qute Gerbil and Hamster Cage with Storage

2 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 66 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Good, solid cage -

It takes a good couple of hours to assemble but the hamster loves it.

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


great cage for the gerbil -

Brilliant sturdy cage, can now have the cats adm gerbil in the same room and not worry they'll knock it over. The gerbil loves the space too. Instructions were a little confusing to start with but got there in the end.

Verified Purchase: Feb 2020


Lovely looking, some little issues -

This hamster cabinet looks so good & appears sturdy. Just a couple of points I didn't realize before I purchased :- with it being a cabinet there are only front & rear bars to hang anything on for your fur baby, I have attached mini (no mess) easy remove adhesive hooks on the wood side panels so I can hook up hanging treats. The rear bars could do with a slide in/out Perspex sheet to prevent seeds etc. from being pushed out of the bars. The tube is a great idea twist & locking it up while cleaning the cage, it would have been better at a corner rather than the middle as you cannot place many play toys in the top section. The small water dispenser that came with the cage leaked badly, so I bought another. The wheel that also came with the cage was quite noisy & really wobbled when Dave the hamster used it, my husband used some brute strength to tighten the screw on the wheel, after I mentioned it to Omlet, hoping it wouldn't break, I couldn't send images as they didn't show up well,it still wobbles but isn't as noisy. Will have to purchase another one though. Its a pity the lower pull out box floor wasn't flat, ( it has raised areas so nothing sits level when placed). There are some serrated hooks to keep the pull down front, one of mine doesn't do anything for support it just flops about. Don't get me wrong, this cage is a lovely item, if there was a larger item choice, I would have definitely purchased that. Am I glad I purchased this item, definitely. It still looks good, hamster Dave is happy, I place him in a play pen for small animals with his food & toys just to give him more space to run around while I deep clean his cage. The construction of this cage is good for spot cleaning everyday. Don't let anything I have mentioned put you off, I just think I got the bad one out of a batch. (It happens).

Verified Purchase: Jan 2020


Great gerbil cage although can get messy -

I bought this cage for my son who saved up to buy his own gerbils. We have had hamsters in the past and found the cheaper cages to be rattly and noisy at night. I can confirm that this is not the case with this cage. It’s perfect for his bedroom and the gerbils don’t keep him up at night. It took a while for one of his gerbils to work out how to get up the tube so we had to temporarily supply water at the bottom but after a few weeks he figured it out and now goes happily up and down. Only negative is I notice they can kick out a lot of their food/sand/bedding from the top level making your floor quite messy behind the cage. I would however recommend. Lovely cage.

Verified Purchase: Dec 2019


I am very happy with the cage/cabinet - Kentucky,

Sammy my hamster loves the addition to his cages. It is exactly how it was described and I am very happy with the purchase, the look, and the quality. I did modify it some so I could attach tubes from it to his other areas. He is a bigger Syrian hamster than a lot I have seen and I wanted him to have a lot more room. Now he has 2 hideout areas , 1 on top of a cage and the larger 1 on the bottom of the cabinet. It took him a while before he made the 2nd one his main hideout and stash house but now he loves it and has even moved some of his favorite things down there. I am very happy that he is happy and I also got storage for his food and treats. The wheel is great for him too. They only thing that could make it better is if it connected to another cabinet or even had a place to connect other things to it.

Verified Purchase: Jan 2020


Looks great. Plenty of space. -

Fab cage. Easy to build. Easy to open. Looks good and generally stops any sawdust from spoiling out. The ability to keep the hamster in either section to allow cleaning of the other is most useful. Cleaning... Has a few narrow parts that are tricky to clean and if the hamster used the top floor as a toilet it drops down both in and out of the bottom drawer through the bars. Overall we are very happy with it. Don't overfull the base with sawdust else it blocks the tube access!

Verified Purchase: Dec 2019


Very nice -

Looks lovely, relatively easy to build. Bottom compartment quite stiff.

Verified Purchase: Nov 2018


Good cage -

Fabulous cage bought one a few years ago and liked it that much decided to buy a second - a little disappoint that the bottom bowl is now plastic and one piece was damaged on arrival but the Omlet were brilliant at replacing it but still not as durable as the preformed bowl and the water bottle now supplied is plastic and leaks before they were glass and I've never had a problem with it. However overall I am very pleased with the cage and would certainly purchase again.

Verified Purchase: Jun 2019


Surprisingly Well-Designed -

It's kind of surprising the effort that went into designing this cage. It fits in with any modern/minimalist style room, which is a huge plus for me since I always disliked how almost all hamster cages have a flimay, toy-ish plastic look about them. Building it was quite intuitive. Pieces fit in nice and snug and, instead of tightening screws and bolts, the pieces themselves hold each other together. The end result is a cage that's probably the easiest cage I've ever had to clean. Only wish they would expand this cage into a range, offering things like double-size "cabinet" cages, or even low flat "coffee table". Cages. I did have one issue: The water bottle was quite flimsy, considering the quality of all other parts. After less than five days of use it simply broke; the steel ball did not stop the water dripping constantly and draining out. Overall, very highly recommended for a smaller hamster, maybe not big enough for a Syrian.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2018

Omlet Says: Hi Gabriel, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you are satisfied with your Qute however you should not have such a problem with your water bottle and we have now arranged for a new one to be sent today so you can replace it as soon as possible. Yours, The Omlet team


Unique cage, easy to clean, a few niggles -

Overall, we love the cage, and it's very different than most others on the market. Love how easy it is to clean--my child (9) can very easily take care of cleaning it on her own. Also like the height--great for hamster-watching. And our hamster is very happy, which is perhaps most important! The storage at the bottom is definitely handy for storing food and hamster accoutrements--that said, the magnet is fiddly, and we've found it doesn't always release the door. The cage was relatively easy to assemble, but a key piece was missing on delivery. Customer service was very nice and quick to sort out the issue, but it did mean a delay in moving our hamster in.
Review for: Walnut Style Qute Gerbil and Hamster Cage with Storage

Verified Purchase: Jan 2018

Omlet Says: Thank you for your review Annie. Please feel free to contact our customer service back if there is a problem with the storage door's magnet as we would be very happy to solve this issue for you. Yours, The Omlet team

1 of 7   Next