Verified Reviews for Large Chicken Coop Eglu Cube

Average Rating:
Based on 1119 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Really solid and warm -

This is a nice solid large house which I think will be nice and warm in the winter (I do have concerns that it would get too hot in the sort of summer heat we have been getting - as it has no sliding windows? and once the sun hits the house it is really warm in there) the nesting partition has been really useful to use as a seperate bedroom for new birds to get used to each others sounds. Easy to clean and can be used without the roosting tray (my birds seem to prefer sleeping directly on the bedding).

Verified Purchase: Aug 2020


Good quality product -

We bought this product (our second eglu) so we could keep chickens again. The eglu has a new design and comes in 5 separate boxes. All the packaging was excellent so everything arrived without damage. I built the eglu in about 5 hours so it takes a while but the end result is worth it. It is a quality hen house. My one criticism is is matching of the M10 nuts and bolts. A few times the threads seem to grind and on a couple of occasions the threads crossed and I couldn’t retrieve the screws. Overall, you will be hard pushed to find a better hen house. Just be extra careful when you are screwing it together and don’t cross threads.

Verified Purchase: Jun 2020


Best Coop Ever -

Let's be honest this is nothing short than brilliant, my girls love it and settled into it straight away. So easy to clean, take the roosting bar & drop tray out to hose them off, clean and dry and put back into place in a matter of minutes. 4 Australorp X Hens are sufficent for a Coop & 3 metre run, with some free ranging throughout the day (weather permitting). I have ordered the auto door for summer as we are often away for a night or two, will give me peace of mind when having neighbours looking out for them. Downside is it took 2 adults (with competent IKEA assembling skills) 5 + hours (10-12hrs for 1 person to do it alone would be sufficent and reasonable time to allow for construction) to put together the coop and 3 metre run. The pain of that 5 hours is soon forgotten when you can easily move it (using the wheels), cleaning out the run is a bit difficult as I'm over 6ft tall but frequently moved around our backyard so not to much of a problem, just worth the mention if you'd plan on having the run and cube coop stationary and dont have kids to bribe to muck out for you or are planning on using a deep litter style approach and without the assistance of the wheels to make it easy to move off the litter when doing your full clean out.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2020


Top house -

A great piece of design. Easy to assemble and even easier to use. Really fit for purpose = happy hens.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2020


Super Coop! - warwickshire,

This is a super coop! My chickens love the layout especially upstairs sleeping/laying and sheltered underneath space where they feel safe. As with both the Omlet coops I've had, cleaning and accessibility are brilliant. Really easy to keep an eye on everyone, perfect height. I only have one criticism - the wheels are not great for moving the coop. It's easy, if rather heavy, on totally flat grass BUT any kind of slight bump, little bit longer grass or slight undulation makes wheeling the coop really hard work. I needed a coop that I could move very easily but the size of the wheels and especially the clearance off the ground make this difficult. Omlet designs are so fab, I did expect a better wheeling system from them.

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


Very pleased with my coop -

Very easy to assemble and move around. I ordered the handles to move it around my yard. Have not received them yet. I think the handles should come with the tractor kit. That’s the only reason I gave it 4 stars.

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


Eglu Cube Mk2 -

Really easy to assemble, even by myself. The hens seem happy in it. Downside so far is the ladder, it seems quite steep and my hens won’t go up or down it, they just fly in and out as if it wasn’t there, I think I will need to add some sort of solid ramp over the top.

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


Love the Cube, customer service is exemplary, struggled a bit with run - VIC,

Direct Freight Express lost two of my 6 boxes but Omlet helped me chase them up, and when one part of the frame proved to be scratched they organised for a replacement to be sent (from the UK) by DHL. That’s service. The Cube is definitely easier to assemble as a two person job. The automatic door I ordered as an add on worked just as it is supposed to, although it was a little bit fiddly to assemble the small parts and connect the Control Panel. I would like to be able to use time mode in the morning and light mode in the evening but the software does not allow this at this stage. I do recommend buying the bracket to mount the Control panel to the Cube at the same time as it looks neat. My 3 ISA Brown girls took some time to get used to the ladder so I propped a plank up as a temporary ramp and brought it down a rung every couple of days. I let them roost in their old house the first night and picked them up when they were sleepy and posted them into the new Cube. After that they put themselves to bed in the Cube and seem very comfortable. I get some eggs in the nesting box but one girl lays in the roosting area. The droppings tray is very easy to empty and both it and the rungs can simply be pressure cleaned, works very well. I ordered the run later. This was not ideal as you really do have to dismantle most of the Cube to instal the run. It looks like you may be able to get away without doing so but trust me, you can’t. I found the run fiddly to assemble and would have preferred it to be in fewer parts. In particular the double clips are very difficult unless you have strong hands. Like many others, I ended up reinforcing the structure with many cable ties, used an entire packet of 100. Also, the front panels to which the doors attach were I think supposed to be identical but in fact mine weren’t (One of the hooks for the locking pins was bent out) and I installed them the wrong way round to start off with so the locking pins would not go through. Works now I swapped them round but worth checking the door pins go through the frame loops before clipping everything together. The whole thing took many hours to assemble single handed mainly due to having to dismantle the Cube (Obviously not an issue if the run is assembled at the sae time as the Cube) and to struggling with the double clips. I’m loving the Cube and auto door and would definitely buy it again, but time will tell if the run proves to be a useful and durable add on.

Verified Purchase: Aug 2020


An excellent product -

The Cube MkII and run is without doubt the best chicken coop I have used. It can be dismantled in minutes for routine cleaning and the thought and experience which has gone into the design shines through. The material from which the Cube is made makes it so easy to remove dirt with just a suitable detergent and hosepipe. The droppings tray is easily emptied and I use a sheet of polythene on top of it which enables me to lift out the old absorbent material and droppings in one operation. The rear door and egg hatch fit perfectly and the latches easy to use and secure. The pop hole door is conveniently operated from outside the run which is a huge improvement on my wooden coops used previously. If you need to move the coop around as I do, then the optional wheel kit is a must as the whole coop and run can be moved by one person. (I needed three people to move my old wooden coop). I can think of only three features which I would design in if I had the opportunity: 1. A sliding tray for the floor of the nestbox area (similar to the droppings tray) would simplify the changing of the bedding material; 2. Dividers in the nest box area would help keep the bedding in place as when my chooks scratch around in there to make a nest, they invariably move all the bedding to one end and lay their eggs on the plastic floor; 3. Automation of the sliding door between the roosting area and nest box area (similar to the automated pop hole door already available) would prevent the risk of the chooks sleeping in the nest box. Were it not for those missing features I would have given a five star rating without question. However, even without those improvements, I would happily buy the product again.

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


Good design, good quality -

Very good design and construction. The directions for putting it together could be much improved. The door for the chickens to go in and out could be bet

1 of 19   Next