Verified Reviews for Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

3 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Average Rating:
Based on 257 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Automatic door -

Shipping fairly normal considering Covid. I was able to put the door together without and issues. The chickens don’t seem to mind it but it is a little small to use for ducks. My ducks are not a fan of it so I will have to figure out what I can do to make it easier for them. I have only used it for couple days so far

Verified Purchase: Nov 2020


Great auto door, go for it! -

Love this auto chicken door by Omlet. My chickens are well trained on it and it saves me hassle daily. Keeps my chickens protected. No more having to run out at sundown to make sure all the chickens are in and the door is closed. Operating on a light sensor is fantastic, no need to adjust open and close time as seasons change (although you can choose to do it that way if you wish). Seems GREAT on battery life too. Battery has only dropped by 10% after three months now. I'm using rechargeable alkaline. 4 stars instead of 5 because of an installation oversight: if you test the door before installing it (like to make sure it's working out of the box), the door will likely calibrate incorrectly and not function as expected once you mount it. If you do this, make sure you recalibrate after installing it, which REQUIRES a sequence of unhooking the control module and then resetting the device. If you reset the device while the control module is still hooked up to the door, it will not perform a recalibration. Took me a lot of trial and error to realize this as to why my door would just loop open/close after I installed it. After solving this installation hiccup, the door has been rock solid ever since. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


An excellent purchase. -

Really pleased with this. It has particularly helped me stop worrying if i am a little late home and my girls are then safely tucked away. I gave 4 not 5 stars as I am not confident about the light sensor as yet and have resorted to using the timer only and changing it every couple of days as the nights draw in. It is however worth every penny!

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Thank Goodness For This Product -

I love it. I can actually trust it will close and open. Super user friendly Only issues I have: -Maybe provide screws (instead of bolts) for drilling into wood without another side. -Small door/opening for chickens to get through!

Verified Purchase: Sep 2020


Love the door hate the instructions for the control box for that a 4 star - Connecticut,

The door is working great ,the instructions for the door were exact however , the instructions for the timer were horrible it took double the time to get the controller all set ,you need the instructions to be clear as for dummies exp is time maybe I should have know time of day but I did not it should have indicated now put time of day ,you need to make improvements on this , however now that all is set I had to call my sister in Maine who has this door to help me set up the controll box took 3 of us but now all set and I am very happy

Verified Purchase: Aug 2020


Good product but could be improved -

So far the door has been ok, control box is simple enough to use once you’ve played about with it getting used to it. I feel the door could be improved slightly by way of tidying up the back of it, or making it so that it can be mounted inside a wooden coop without seeing the door mechanism from the outside when the door is closed.

Verified Purchase: Jul 2020


It gives great peace of mind, no more piles of feathers in the morning. -

Simple to fit but the instructions for programming could be better. The video was very helpful but without wifi in the chicken run a good hard copy was needed so screen printing/frame grabbing from the video worked a treat.

Verified Purchase: Jun 2020


Auto door opener on a wooden coup. -

It does what it says on the tin, easy instructions to install 3 weeks in and working ok.

Verified Purchase: Mar 2020


Really allowed us to relax about putting the hens to bed - West Yorkshire,

Our chickens are on our allotment and since we got them, we were there at least twice a day to let them out and shut them back in. Going out on evenings was a nightmare as we constantly worried about foxes if we weren't there at dusk to close the hatch. The Omlet Automatic Chicken Coop Door really has taken the pressure off. We can sleep in on the mornings and go out on the evenings without stressing about foxes. The door seems reliable and it took a few days of monitoring to ensure the settings were in tune to our chickens' routines, otherwise I'd be worried about them being locked out at night. Thankfully this has never yet happened. I have just a few niggles, though overall I'm really happy with the door. - I have the door on a light setting; opening and closing according to light levels. This is fine in winter but I know in summer I'd need to tweak the settings so my cockerel isn't let out to crow at 5am and annoy the neighbours. It would have been great if there were an option like "open at XX light level, but no earlier than 08:00", or "open on a time schedule, but close on a light level". Instead, I'll just have to increase the opening light level and perhaps add an additional opening delay too through the year. - I have my door set to close on the lowest light level with quite a high additional delay, which ends up closing just a few minutes after my chickens have taken themselves to bed. I'd have liked the light sensor to have been just a little bit more sensitive, so I didn't have to rely on the lowest light setting. - If I want to manually close the chickens out during the day to clean their coop, only a few minutes later the door will open again because the minimum light level for opening has been met. I'm not aware of a way to be able to close the door until it is either manually opened again, or until it has first gone through the close routine (reaching the minimum light level) before automatically opening the next morning. All in all, a great product that I'd highly recommend and there should be enough configuration options for you to get around any limitations.

Verified Purchase: Apr 2020

Omlet Says: Dear Stuart, Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that the door has made such a difference to your day to day routines. I will pass on your comments about opening and closing on different modes, this might be something they can look into. If you wish to keep your chickens out during the cleaning of your coop, you can still use the manual coop door, or you can change the mode on the control panel to "manual" then change it back to "light" once you have finished cleaning the coop. I hope this information helps, please feel free to email our customer services team at hello@omlet.co.uk if you have any further questions or concerns. Kindest regards, Omlet


Excellent product, but use online instructions -

Excellent product and easy to use. I set the time manually otherwise my ladies go and lay in odd places and it is quick and easy to change the time to accommodate the shortening evenings. Only giving 4 stars because the paper instructions were either out of date or belonged to another model and it was hugely frustrating in parts trying to follow them. When I went indoors to google I found the online ones which were the right ones so check first that the paper ones match the online ones before you start.

Verified Purchase: Sep 2019

1 of 26   Next