Tuesday 21 December 2010

Monday 13 December 2010

It’s Christmas time at Hen House HQ! Yesterday the ladies got up close and personal with the Christmas tree before I decorated the tree in their run with tinsel!

Thursday 09 December 2010

I’m not the only one worried about the cold weather affecting the ladies – in East Sussex the Raystede Centre for Animal Welfare has brought out the Christmas jumpers for their featherless chucks. Check them out: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-11943782 src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=goozleberry.wordpress.com&blog=14395732&post=177&subd=goozleberry&ref=&feed=1" alt="" class="feed_item_image" />

Thursday 02 December 2010

Brrrr. Poor chickens have had it tough over the past few weeks, and while it hasn’t snowed to the extent that it has around the rest of the country, it’s still bitterly cold out there. I’ve been filling the drinker … Continue reading →

Monday 08 November 2010

Just had an innocent smoothie that came with a little knitted hat and decided they would be perfect for the chickens when the weather gets colder! I don’t think I’ll be able to get them to keep them on but … Continue reading →

Wednesday 27 October 2010

Now winter’s here – OK it might not be officially winter yet, but it’s pretty dark – I’m finding it hard to spend quality time with the chucks. All is well down at Hen House HQ and the ladies seem … Continue reading →

Monday 13 September 2010

Monty looks like he wants to take the chickens on…my money’s on the chickens to win!

Monday 06 September 2010

The ladies are looking really well at the moment, and have tons of feathers – almost like real chickens!

Wednesday 25 August 2010

Stop with the rain already, it’s Summer and the hen house is yet to be waterproofed! Poor chucks. I have painted the outside of the coop with some magic paint that claims that the wood won’t rot etc and even … Continue reading →

Monday 23 August 2010

So we had a film crew round yesterday to film the ladies…they loved the attention. Film due out in October so keep your eyes peeled…

Thursday 12 August 2010

Chucks seem to be loving the new run, which is fab, although we’ve had a few escape attempts whenever I open the run door – Nugget is the worst! The chucks still come running whenever they hear us and give … Continue reading →

Monday 09 August 2010

The title says it all…

Friday 06 August 2010

Thought I’d upload a couple of photos of the new run…

Wednesday 04 August 2010

In a bid to save the garden we decided to extend the chicken run. Hmmm, chickens now have an area the size of a zoo enclosure. After two rolls of chicken wire, buckets of screws, digging the hardest ground in … Continue reading →

Thursday 29 July 2010

The chucks go crazy for grapes/oats/spinach/my toes/anything food-like…

Monday 26 July 2010

We’re on about two eggs a day at the moment, sometimes three, which I’m loving – although I think I might turn into an egg if someone doesn’t take them off my hands! However, while most of them range from … Continue reading →

Omlet Cartoon