Limited availability due to high demand. Please see our Stock Availability page for more information.

Verified Reviews for Universal Automatic Chicken Coop Door

Back to Product

Average Rating:
Based on 921 Verified Reviews
Write Review
Filter By:

Glad I purchased it! - Peter,

Installation was simple on a wood coop. I haven't seen a more streamlined door available from anyone, and the string ones seem to have problems so I'm so glad I got this. I may seal around it a bit better to reduce winter wind effects, but ventilation probably isn't bad. If you want to install wires blind through minimally sized holes the size of the wire, you may want to cut and splice like I did.. Even before this splice, the thing does get a little software-stuck occasionally causing a need for a system reset or battery removal-reinstallation. The light add-on is quite nice for luring the chickens home and helping me count them without a glaring flashlight on them. I found that lithium batteries are superior in the winter and will last a very long time. Oh, my mini pig figured out how to activate the safety plate to get into the coop and steal food, which is hilarious.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door with Coop Light - Grey

Verified Purchase: May 2021 The reviewer has 8-10 Rhode island reds, b pets


Best coop purchase yet - Sarah, Oregon,

This product is one of those quality of life bumps, not just for us but for the chickens as well. We don't have to rush out to the coop to open it up each morning and no more forgetting to close it up at night, leaving the girls vulnerable. It works flawlessly and we couldn't be happier. Absolutely would recommend.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

Verified Purchase: Dec 2021 The reviewer has 10+ pets


Easy to install and works a treat - Marcia,

Our Omlet door autodoor works perfectly. Much easier to install than other doors (we have tried several) and set up was easy too. We love our Omlet door
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

Verified Purchase: Dec 2021 The reviewer has 6-8 Light Sussex pets


Great solution - Sergio,

We bought the Universal Automatic Chicken Coop Door a couple of months ago and recently we added the internal light. it is a great system and problem free. Our chickens are sleeping safe and we do not have anxiety thinking whether or not we close the coop or get up early when we want to lay down a bit more
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Grey

Verified Purchase: Jan 2022 The reviewer has 2-4 pets


Once you have one you won’t want to be without it - Susan,

Does exactly what it is supposed to do. Great for peace of mind knowing the girls are always safe & secure at night even if I’m not there. In the Summer the girls are out and about as the sun rises, even if I’m not. I did have a problem after 2 years with the controller, but excellent customer service from Bella at Omlet resolved the problem quickly for me. Easy to use, I found the batteries last over 12 months, much longer than expected.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Grey

Verified Purchase: Jan 2022 The reviewer has 6-8 Pekin bantams pets


The Girls Love It! - Chrissy, Washington,

I've been research automatic doors for the coop for a couple of years and have always decided not to go that route due to horror stories of them shutting in on the chicken and killing it. I saw Omlet's video and read reviews and decided to take a chance. I'm so happy we did! Other than it shutting on the chicken and killing it, my other concerns were mud and debris getting stuck in the track and preventing it from closing or opening and it freezing shut or open. Ours came during the perfect time to test it out on all our concerns. We had a cold snap (Washington state/Pacific Northwest) where it dipped to 10 degrees Fahrenheit with snow. I was sure that the ice would build in the tracks or the cold would drain the battery. It didn't! It worked beautifully and and continues to do so. I'll be saving up to get another one for the other side of the coop being their run is divided by the coop. I have nothing bad to say about this product. Easy set up and reliable. Can't ask for more! https://youtu.be/G1KkYbuMBs8
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Grey

Verified Purchase: Nov 2021 The reviewer has 8-10 Hens (Cochin, Americ pets


Great little door - Roberto,

We've been using this door for about a month+ and so far it has worked well. It's a well-put together product that works as advertised. Relatively simple to put together and install. Solid solution for the feathered ladies.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Green

Verified Purchase: Dec 2021


Solid door, solved several problems, but didn't resolve one... - Mark,

I just fitted this to my wooden coop. It took a bit of fiddling and dismantling but any competent DIY'er wouldn't have too much of a problem. It works similarly to the Chicken Guard, my previous opener. The problem I had with that was lining up the pulley, and it was just a faff and kept failing. The sensor also didn't work well enough to suit my hens and I couldn't position it in the light to use the sensor (it's a pain to keep changing the set time every month or so). The Omlet door solves most of these problems except the light issue. The 20 minute delay at night is useful, but in the morning it's inconvenient. I don't know if my hens are particularly early risers but it was daylight and the countdown timer had 15 mins left. It would be great if the sensor was a bit smarter, detecting gradual lightening environments, or even getting rid of the delay in the morning, it's just not quite smart enough for me. You are able to set your own delay, but it's your delay + Omlet's 20 minutes. Would be nice to be able to set minus values. The door and motor itself however is quality. Strong, robust and flawless. Overall the hardware is amazing, but the software not so much unfortunately.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Grey

Verified Purchase: Oct 2021 The reviewer has 2-4 pets


We love it! - Aimee,

This automatic coop door has made chicken keeping so much easier! We rest easy knowing our girls are safe at night and now we get to sleep in guilt-free because they’re able to get out as soon as it’s light out. I’m so happy we made this investment.
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door - Grey

The reviewer has 10+ Barred Rock, Olive E pets


Super Happy - Jennifer,

I am so very pleased with this product. The ease of installation and programming and the programming options are great! Glad that I got the coop light too!
Review for: Automatic Chicken Coop Door with Coop Light - Grey

Verified Purchase: Dec 2021 The reviewer has 6-8 Chicken variety pets

1 of 93   Next